New Chairman of the Canefield Urban Council Maximen Powell says residents of the area will be required to pay their house rates to assist the council.

He says the issues of climate change will also be on the council’s agenda.

Mr. Powell was elected at the inaugural meeting of the council on Friday.

Meantime, former chairman Simeon Albert says it is unfortunate that the council has been unable to collect sufficient taxes.

He says the attacks by some current members of the council are responsible for dwindling house rates for the Council.

The New Canefield Urban Council is made up of elected members Maximen Powell Chairman, Ingrid Abraham, Joyce Dupuis, Michael coipel and Michael Timothy.

Nominated members are Franklyn Fabien, Veronica Graham and Alleyne Wilson.