The name Simeon Albert will not appear for the first time in 15 years in the Canefield Urban Council elections.

The elections are set for today but Albert the current Chairman will not seek re-election.

He says after 15 years he has made his contribution to develop the Canefield Community.

Albert says he is proud about his achievement as Chairman of the Canefield Urban Council.

The 9 candidates for the elections are Alliane Martha Abel, Ingrid Abraham, Steingel Carter, Michael Coipel, Joyce Dupuis, Jefferson McPherson, Maximea Powell, Michael Timothy and Alleyne Wilson.

The polls open at 8am and close at 5pm.